Waste not, want not, not beaten to death. or: The Porto Flip and how to make if better with poached pears.

Poached Pears in Chocolate, aka:sexy dessert

Poached Pears in Chocolate, aka:sexy dessert

When asked if he, “recycled bread, “ the process by which a busser or waiter takes un used bread from one table to a new table with some slight of hand, Jacque Pepin replied, “no, “ then smiling, added, “but when I first began cooking, chef would have beaten me to death for wasting bread.”

Or like my friend Jake, a chef turned bartender says: “You may never be a millionaire, but you can find a million ways to save a dollar.”

Restaurants and bars are full of waste.  I hesitate to make any recipe at home that uses the phrase, “discard.”  It seems that I am wasteful at work.

I routinely use an entire peel as a garnish-save fruit for juicing later

I brandy our cherries with a equal parts, wild turkey, kirsh, maraschino and rich simple-the outcome of which is my house made cherry brandy, cherry Heering is for babies and old people

Even I save old wine corks to use for packaging, way cooler that foam peanuts.

But I recently had a stroke of genius that I’ll share with you that involves to of the better things in life, dessert and booze.  I was thinking, “self remember that time Theresa of Shawn and Theresa, of nerd club (people with whom I watch Battlestar), remember when she made poached pears in port, hmmm, that was a tasty cylon treat.”  So I decided to make poached pears, to eat but mostly because I wanted port that had been reduced in pears and spices.

I pulled this recipe off of chow.com , it worked great, and before you ask, if you are going to boiled it for 20 minutes, I think you can use lame port, I did.

By Kate Ramos

A single pear, poached in fortified wine and standing upright on a dessert plate, is a beautiful thing—a simple and light yet elegant dessert. The garnishing options are endless here: Serve with ice cream, whipped cream, caramel sauce, chocolate desserts, or a little crème anglaise.

INGREDIENTS

* 4 cups port wine
* 1 cup water
* 1/2 cup granulated sugar
* 1 vanilla bean, split lengthwise and scraped, seeds and pod reserved
* 1 (2-inch) stick cinnamon
* 1 teaspoon whole allspice
* 1/8 teaspoon kosher salt
* 4 firm Bosc or Anjou pears (about 1 pound)

INSTRUCTIONS

1. Combine all ingredients except pears in a medium saucepan and bring to a boil over high heat, stirring until sugar is completely dissolved. Meanwhile, peel pears, leaving the stems intact. Slice off the bottom 1/8 inch of each pear to create a flat, stable base.
2. Reduce heat to keep poaching liquid at a bare simmer and add pears, laying them on their sides so that they are almost completely submerged. Cook, turning pears occasionally so that they become saturated on all sides, until they are just tender when pierced with a fork, about 7 minutes.
3. Allow pears to cool completely in the poaching liquid. Serve or transfer pears and liquid to an airtight container and store in the refrigerator for up to 2 days.

Instead of the teaspoon of allspice I used 2 jiggers of falernum.  I use Paul’s #8 with 2 thai chili’s inside the bottle)  I wanted to make drinks with the finished product, and the first slacker one I tried was such an instant success that I can’t wait to see what will happen when actually I try to make a real drink.

First off, remember a Porto Flip, is not a Port Flip Subtleties and tiny variations aside, a aside a “Port Flip,” is a port drink, with an egg, port and a bit of sugar, and a “Porto Flip,” is a brandy drink, with an egg using port as the sweetening agent.  Here is my twist, simple and tasting and you will have the “by product” of a great dessert after you have made a great liqueur.

Poached Pear Porto Flip

Poached Pear Porto Flip

Poached Pear Porto Flip Recipe

1.5 oz Brandy
1 oz pear poached port
.25 oz lemon juice
1 whole egg
shake and strain into a pretty glass, port, and porto flips are always an ugly color, hide that with a pretty glass

garnish with a dust of cinnamon

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Waste not, want not, not beaten to death. or: The Porto Flip and how to make if better with poached pears.

  1. Brian says:

    this drink was freaking delicious. thanks again. ;)
    (Brian of Brian, Chris & Chris)

  2. jeshua Madden says:

    Looks killer.
    I love a good flip, I think we’re gonna put a few of em on our dessert menu at saz.

  3. Mr Manhattan says:

    Jonsey may be cheap but it’s actually pretty good. According to Robert Parker (who gave is a 93) it’s blended from 40+ year old stocks. One could do a lot worse.

Leave a Reply

