The Cocktail Advent Calendar-Dec 15th, The Coffee Cocktail

Today’s Cocktail Advent Calendar is the dumbest name for a cocktail ever: The Coffee Cocktail.  The Coffee cocktail has no coffee., nor is it a cocktail (a cocktail being spirit, water, sugar, bitters, and stirred).  This is a Jerry Thomas era moustashe-tasctic recipe that is a great goodnight cocktail. What is the difference between a Coffee Cocktail and  a Porto Flip?  If you ask the internet you’ll get a list that says they are pretty much the same cocktail, but upon consulting one of the few places on the internet where I actually like getting recipes: cocktaildb.com I see that Ted say, “no brandy in a porto flip.”  I’d generally side with him on matters such because he can do that um, citing precedent thing.  Anyone else?  I’d love to hear your thoughts.

I invented the smily face cocktail garnish.

The Coffee Cocktail

  • 1 oz Cognac
  • 1 oz Port
  • .25 oz Simple Syrup
  • 1 whole egg

grate a little nutmeg on top

This is a bit of a lazy Xmas (so much so that I can’t spell out Christmas) cocktail that I envision as the height of exotica in old wood paneled dive bars.  I think there is a certain type of awareness I have about that as I remember this drink as one of the first egg cocktails I made when everything was new to me.  I disagree with what most would say about using mediocre port in this cocktail, it is by no means a time to crack a fine one, but a $10 fifth from the grocer & cooking brandy make this drink that good.  A nice ruby port with a heavy VS cognac make the Coffee Cocktail much better.  OF course if you are in that dive bar, you’d get in trouble for having an egg in cognac.   Another sad song with a hopeful feeling of, “things might get better,” is the Tom Waits song, “Christmas Card From a Hooker in Minneapolis.”

This entry was posted in Classic Cocktails, Cocktail Advent Calendar, cognac, Eggs, Holiday Drinks, porto flip, the coffee cocktail. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Cocktail Advent Calendar-Dec 15th, The Coffee Cocktail

  1. Pingback: Cocktail Advent Calendar-Dec 22nd, the Porto Flip « Caskstrength

Leave a Reply

