100th post

Seems that in reading blogs people make a big deal out of their 100th blog.  When I saw the page yesterday that said  I was on #99 I didn’t want to give post# 100 to the,  “Improved Stinger,” not matter how awesome it is.  I thought I’d instead throw out a few thanks and a philosophic, introspective note or 2.

Bryn Lumsden

He is one man with the effectiveness of and army of Santa’s elves.  When I was in college and driving a truck for a butcher company I walked into a fancy restaurant one day and overheard a conversation that summed up many truths about the restaurant/bar business.

“I don’t fucking care how good of a roll the kid can make unless he can make 100 more exactly like it.  Tell him that and tell him he is fucking through here.”

This came from a chef at a very high ceilinged, white table cloth place.  And he perfectly explained (by firing a guy) the crucial difference between amateur and pro.  The Cocktail Advent Calendar wouldn’t have made it this far without Bryn’s inspired, organizational genius. The difference between making 1 good cocktail and making them all night is skill, Bryn’s skill. Thanks buddy.

And great taste in music

It is also my Dad’s birthday

Happy birthday dad.  Dad, you are a pretty great guy.  I quote you a lot.  Not just stuff about power tools and measuring twice, but little gems that you’ve accidentally and intentionally mentioned over the past 27 years.  I say 27 years because I didn’t listen to a god damn thing you said from age 14-18.  You’ll need to repeat those for me.  I love you.

Cheers dad.

Guests and friends

Thanks to everyone who drank my drinks.  Double thanks for telling me when you didn’t like them, I learned a lot more from that.

Readers

I’m sorry.  I’ll be posting a before and after photo of what I looked like when I started writing, “Drinking Like a Man.”  It is a funny one.  Thanks for sticking with me.

Travels

There are no people kinder than bar people.  They are as hospitable as mormons but with alcohol. Thank you bar family from around the world.

 

Bryce who owns Okolemaluna in Kona, he is holding me up.

 

Michelle

Thank you for taking me around the world.  Without you, those travels would have been fairly worthless and non-existant.  Thank you for supporting my career and my poor writing composition skills.  Thank you for editing all this nonsense, I really need it.  Because of you I can do everything I have to do.  I’ll spend the rest of my life making it up to you.  I love you forever & I’ll do all the dishes.

Thank you Michelle

100th post and expect more of the same, I’m not going to learn to spell and I’m going to keep overusing commas.

This entry was posted in Cocktails. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 100th post

  1. NDC says:

    Perhaps the most consistently enjoyable blogs out there. Congrats on 100 posts and keep them coming. Oh, and tell your dad Neil says hi!

  2. Tony Harion says:

    Hey Andrew!
    Congrats on the journey!
    Keep up the great work.
    Your blog is always a fun and inspiring read.
    Cheers,

Leave a Reply

